PKMN.NET :: Special Evolutions :: Gold, Silver and Crystal Guides
Gold, Silver and Crystal Guides: Special Evolutions |

Most Pokémon evolve when they reach the right level. Some, however, need special treatment to evolve. Here is a brief guide.

Happiness, which I have covered in detail elsewhere, is a new way of evolving. Make your Pokémon happy, level it up, and it will evolve. The following Pokémon evolve when happy:

Some Pokémon evolve when you use a Stone on them. There are six different elemental stones: Water Stone, Fire Stone, Leaf Stone, Thunderstone, Moon Stone and Sun Stone. You can sometimes find Moon Stones on the floor, and sometimes your mother will buy one if you give her money. You get a Sun Stone when you win first prize in the Bug Catching Competition north of Goldenrod City on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. You can get the other four from Bill's grandfather, but you can only get one of each. To get more, youd have to trade your Pokémon to a RBY cart, evolve it, then send it back. Here are all the Pokémon which evolve with an elemental stone:

This one has remained unchanged from RBY - trading! The following pokémon evolve when you trade them:

Although its remained unchanged, trade evolutions have been taken a step further. These Pokémon evolve when you attach an item to them before trading:

You can get the Upgrade from Silph Co. There's a Kings Rock in the Slowpoke Well and you can sometimes get one by using Thief on wild Slowpoke. You can get a Metal Coat on the SS Aqua and you can probably get one by using Thief on wild Magnemite - you can also get one by trading a Magnemite from RBY. You can get a Dragons Scale by trading a Dratini from RBY and probably by using Thief on a wild Dratini.

Last, we've got Tyrogue. It's a bit strange compared to the others, since what it evolves into depends on its stats. If, at evolution (usually level 30), its attack is the same as its defense, Tyrogue evolves into Hitmontop. If its attack is higher than its defense, it evolves into Hitmonchan. If its attack is lower than its defense, it evolves into Lickitung. Fun.

To finish off, here are all the Pokémon that evolve into more than one monster:

Page written by Psythor.

Digg this! | | Reddit | Stumble Upon | Facebook

Tags: None!

Arvy_pk on Mon 24 Mar 2008 03:37:30 UTC.
Whats RBY stands for?
AnimeloverGal on Sun 19 Jun 2011 20:10:21 UTC.
It stands for the Generation I games (Red, Blue and Yellow)
Guest on Mon 03 Aug 2015 15:20:54 UTC.
Tyrogue evolves into Lickitung. How cute and strange is that :) hitmonlee evolves into pickachu :)