Pokémon Games > Team Building

Eva's Pokemon Gen II Team!

(1/2) > >>

Evaquaver:
This is my first time here on the forums but I've been a big fan of several things on the site for a long time (Like the Name Rater stuff!). Now that that's out of the way, I'm a bit new to the whole Competitive Battling thing, but some friends and I are getting together for a Gold/Silver/Crystal tournament and I want to win! I'll be playing with people that know tons about the inner workings of the game and have stuck with Pokemon through their whole lives (I only recently beat Sapphire and got my first taste of Diamond, so i'm not quite as up to snuff). After a ton of research I think I might have a killer team (while still using Pokemon I like and not like, Tyranitar or something). What do you guys think?

Dragonite
Item: Dire hit
1.) Outrage
2.) Zap Cannon
3.) Blizzard
4.) Dynamicpunch

Sandslash
Item: Soft Sand
1.) Swords Dance
2.) Earthquake
3.) Sandstorm
4.) Fury Swipes

Xatu
Item: Leftovers
1.) Psychic
2.) Giga Drain
3.) Confuse Ray
4.) Drill Peck

Vaporeon
1.) Hydro Pump
2.) Aurora Beam
3.) Rest
4.) Acid Armor

Ampharos
Item: Magnet
1.) Thunder
2.) Dynamicpunch
3.) Fire Punch
4.) Thunder Wave

Clefable
Item: Pink Bow
1.) Return
2.) Moonlight
3.) Fire Blast
4.) Metronome

I'm super open to suggestions about anything; from the items to the moves to the Pokemon themselves. The only one I absolutely couldn't bear to consider swapping would be Ampharos, I love that Pokemon to bits, and also atm I'm planning for her to be my lead.

quack98:
Firstly, welcome to the site! Anyway, on to the team,  first thing I notice about Dragonite is that his only move with 100% accuracy is outrage, which locks you in for 2-3 turns, so swapping  Zap Cannin for Body Slam may be a good idea, as only a 30% chance if paralysing is better than a 50% chance of missing completely.